Highschool Never Ends…

You know how Shakespeare once said “The world is a stage”? Or something like that… Well… he really knew what he was talking about. A man of genius. Today I spent 9.5 hours at the retail optical store I work at a couple of times a month to only witness everything that is wrong in this world…simply in those 9 hours. Truly, what baffles me the most in life is human behavior, including my own. We really are all actors/actresses playing several different roles and being several different characters. No one ever really knows who you are underneath. But more importantly…we lose so much value that can potentially come out of human relationships.

During my lunch break a fellow coworker, who I get along with decently, expressed to me her issues with other staff and management. I listened, all her complaints seemed valid. She supported them quite well. Later in the day I heard further complaints, particularly complaints about the complaints that they hear from others. All it is is more drama about the drama. Seriously, it is as if high school has never ended. And the saddest part of it all is that we all range in adult ages from 23 to 50! That’s mad! When I say my human behavior is included in the criticism of other human behavior, it is because I am sitting here, judging everyone else as well, while they do the same but just find different methods in doing so (they choose gossip, I choose blogging). At the end of the day everyone is judging and not a single person is looking to gain any insight on themselves. “What can I do differently?” “What worked in my approach, what did not work?” “How can I modify the way I handled the situation? What can I do”. Everyone is so ready to point the finger at the other person because everyone is too scared and has too much pride to look at their own reflection. Frankly…other people’s actions and reactions are simply correlated with who we are when we are with that person. We very often fail to see this because we never want to take responsibility for our actions….

As you can see this stems deeper than just in an average retail store in the middle of the mall…this is happening everywhere in our lives, the WORLD is our stage. We choose to always fall victims of drama because victims are typically the good guys, the protagonist, and we, as humans, want to be the star. Let’s face it, we live in a self revolving life by default, we are with ourselves more than we are with anyone else and we can never escape it. Perhaps I digress a little bit…but seriously, it is pretty ridiculous how we are creators of drama as well as reactors to it. RE-ACTORS (if you break it apart). We are acting and acting and acting…reflection is what is missing from the equation…seeking out what really matters….seeking out resolutions and solutions. All we have in this world is our relationships with people because life would be nonliving if it did not consist of humans. A lot of people tell me I am too nice…which I will save for another blog…but to make it brief…I am told I am “too nice” or “i like everyone”. Really what it is is that I find value in the human race, and yes I do give most people the benefit of the doubt, I do play devil’s advocate quite a bit, but all for a real reason. Not because I am naive or a people pleaser…but because I truly find value in humans because I find value in me, how can I be a person of value if I cannot value all other people, strangers or non strangers. I would have to call myself worthless if I am unable to respect all other human beings. I am NOT worthless.

~ by urherow on March 24, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
